First Week Back – Thoughts

Hey Everyone,

I’m still trying to figure out how I’m frequently I’m going to post, what I will post, etc. I’ve decided that I will do my best to post progress pics, as well as discuss regression in the middle of progress. That will be the theme this week, as well as most of the weeks to come: getting back on track.

This week for me has been particularly difficult. When I started back I also began a steroid treatment which, for five days, had me injecting a gel steroid myself for 5 days. The potential side effects, which I felt, were weight gain, increased appetite, as well as muscle weakness. I gained, while I feel it mostly water-weight (I hope) between 6 or 7 lbs. That’s a bit of a setback. On top of that, I felt really sick  – so much so that I’ve needed about 4 days to recuperate post-treatment. No working out, diet out the window mostly once that monster appetite hit.

It feels like a setback, but I want to view this as an opportunity to touch on one of the most trying obstacles that may come up in a transformative journey, and that is life. Mindfulness, I’ve learned, is ultimately important. I am aware that this is a setback. I understand where I have not followed through. But the key is to not let it set me back completely. I may have gained some weight back, but that doesn’t mean that I have to keep it. There is no real timeline which is now utterly ruined. The only timeline is my life. And hopefully, with care, I still have a long way to go in that respect.

So today, I come back a bit heavier than last week, but with renewed resolve to get back to action. To continue pushing myself to trim the fat.

As for new topics, I’ve talked with a few friends who come at body image issues with different views. I know my blog is primarily about weight loss, but that is merely one part of the body image spectrum. I feel that showing multiple perspectives will help open a dialogue about it, and let everyone know that they are not alone in their feelings of inadequacy at times. Ultimately, I’d like to show that there is no need to feel inadequate, but that is to be arrived at one step at a time. I know I’m still working through that myself.

That’s all for me now. I will continue sharing my experience with you, week by week, as things go along. I’d also like to know if there are things that you, the reader, would like to know about or see? What has you curious when you think about going through this journey yourself, or watching someone else go through it? Please let me know in the comments section below, and thank you.

To Your Health and Wellness,

Martin Arroyo, CPT

Leave a Reply

